The Seven Sacraments of the Catholic Church

The Catholic Church has seven sacraments, which were instituted by Jesus to grant graces to the Church. A sacrament is an outward, or physical, sign of a grace given by God. While the outward symbols (for example, water, white garments, and oil at baptisms) may be what we notice and remember most, the most important part of any sacrament is the grace conferred by Jesus, through the ministry of the Church. Could Jesus grant the graces of baptism without the physical pouring of water? Of course – God can do anything! But He has given us sacraments because we are material people, and the physical sign or symbol helps us to better grasp the reality of what is happening.

The sacraments are divided into the categories of Initiation, Healing, and Service.


Sacraments of Initiation:

  1. Baptism
  2. Confirmation
  3. Eucharist

Sacraments of Healing:

  1. Penance (or Reconciliation)
  2. Anointing of the Sick

Sacraments of Service:

  1. Matrimony
  2. Holy Orders


By Elizabeth Craig

Updated 05-06-2023